Your are here: UK Cities > Cities in Scotland

 Choose a city

Birmingham Bristol Leeds
Liverpool Manchester Newcastle
Nottingham Sheffield

Core Cities

Eight cities within England have been designated "core cities", forming a network of major regional cities. These cities are focal points in their respective regions and have forged a strategic partnership to enhance their economic performance and maintain their competitive standing internationally. To achieve this the group of eight cities is focusing on eight key areas:

  1. Transport and connectivity
  2. Innovation and business support
  3. Skills and employment
  4. Sustainable communities
  5. Culture and creative industries
  6. Climate change
  7. Finance and industry
  8. Governance

Interestingly enough London is not in the list, however it is of course in an entirely different class and is in fact larger than all 8 core cities combined. You can learn more about the Core Cities on the official website here.

Below is the list of the eight core cities, each listed with local website providing much more details on each city: